December 31, 2014

  • Happy New Year -- 2015

    Christmas was lovely!  We always celebrate with our adult children and their spouses, my brother, my Mom, and our grandchildren.  The youngsters make it a fun time for all.

    2014-12-26

    My favorite "holiday" of the year is that time starting with Christmas and into New Year's Day.  I enjoy the Advent season with the emphasis of remembering the first coming of Jesus. Then from Christmas until New Year's Day, I do a lot of meditating, private journaling, and praying as I consider the past year &  look forward to the new year. I don't make "Resolutions" per se; but I make goals that I'd like to try to reach throughout the year.  I generally choose a theme, and Bible verse(s) that I memorize and try to use to guide me in meeting the goals of the year.

    This year my verses are from Ephesians 5:15-17, Psalm 90:12, and Hebrews 13:15-16 (I still need to memorize the Eph. verses; the others I memorized last year.)  I memorize normally from the KJV, because that is what I've used since my early childhood to memorize; I read and study in all types of versions, however. When I read through the Bible, I enjoy using a different version each time (sometimes I've read all in one year; other times I may take two or three years to read and do a deeper study). The last couple of years I was using the New Living Translation; this year I am planning to use the New Century Version.

    Here are the verses for this year, from the NCV, given in the order they were listed above.

    So be very careful how you live. Do not live like those who are not wise, but live wisely. Use every chance you have for doing good, because these are evil times. So do not be foolish but learn what the Lord wants you to do. /  Teach us how short our lives really are so that we may be wise. /  So through Jesus let us always offer to God our sacrifice of praise, coming from lips that speak his name. Do not forget to do good to others, and share with them, because such sacrifices please God.

    We are in winter .... no snow at all, but this week we are experiencing temperatures in the 20's and 30's, with bright shining sun on several of the days.  
    Here is a picture taken of us by my former student, Nicole, who was married this year. She is a professional photographer, and she came to our home to take pictures of the four of us in the first of the three pictures in the last post.  Signing off for this time ~ Carolyn  :-)   MDJ & CJ - NOV. 2014 - 1C

     

Comments (6)

  • Happy New Year to you too ~ I need to work on our Christmas pictures next week ~ way behind again! :)

  • What a wonderful picture of you both!I am glad you enjoyed Christmas with your family and this time between the Nativity and New year . Yes, Carolyn, this this the time of the making of good resolutions even if sometimes we failed ( I speak about me of course !! :)
    Love♥
    Michel

  • re your comment ~ I love January because we can finally slow down and rest a bit ~ no deadlines, time to catch up on several things ~ AND I love to watch it snow ~ ;)

    LOVELY photo of you two ~ :)

  • RYC : Did you make this beautiful post with your Kindle Fire or with your computer, Carolyn ? I think it was with a computer but not sure.
    Love
    Michel

  • Thank you, Michel for your sweet comments re: my husband and my picture, and also re: the new post. I usually use my laptop computer to do my blog posts, because it is easier to do so. I have done short blogs with my Kindle.
    Are you thinking about getting a Kindle?
    Love ~ Carolyn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031