Month: February 2015

  • Goodbye to a Friend ... and Thoughts on Being Used to Give a Godly Touch to Others

    I don't have a lot of news to report, all though I am doing better than I had been physically. Pain is just a part of life, but I'm so thankful that it isn't as bad as it had been.

     Sometimes Xanga friends become WordPress and Facebook friends too. One of those was John Childress - "Inciteful" -- whom I know that some of you others knew as well.  John is no longer with us; and my heart goes out to all of his family and friends who were especially close to him ... he was a real family man, and in the short time I became acquainted with him, I grew to appreciate his posts and pictures.  I had gone to his FB site to wish him a "Happy Birthday" on February 18th, only to find that he had died on the 8th.  Here is his obituary.  John, you will be much missed.

    I read a good devotional  called "A Godly Touch" - an excerpt from Max Lucado's book, Just Like Jesus.   The devotional was based on Matthew 8:3 - "Jesus reached out His hand and touched the man and said, 'I will. Be healed.' "  Excellent!  Here it is:

          Oh, the power of a godly touch. Haven't you known it? The doctor who treated you, or the teacher who dried your tears?           Was there  a hand holding yours at a funeral? Another on your shoulder during a trial? A handshake of welcome at a new   job?    Can't we offer the same?  

    Many of you already do. Some of you have the master touch of the Physician himself. You use your hands to pray over the sick and minister to the weak. If you aren't touching them personally, your hands are writing letters, dialing phones, baking pies. You have learned the power of a touch.                                                                                                          

      But others of us tend to forget. Our hearts are good; it's just that our memories are bad. We forget how significant one touch can be ... Aren't we glad Jesus didn't make the same mistake?"

    Over my lifetime I have blessed with many of those godly touches ... they often come when least expected, and from all sorts of places. Many of you my friends and family who will see this are among those who have touched me in special ways. Thank you. It is not way past time for me to come around and visit all of you NOW!   

     

  • And on we go . . .

    Can you believe it? As I write this, and I look at the time on my computer, I realize that we have already just said goodbye to January, 2015!  Where has the time gone? I've decided to show where my time has been going via pictures.

    Preparing meals, baking (different recipes for) bread on my breadmaker, reading books to both Mom and myself, correspondence, and I am starting to have the ability to get out a little each week (usually every -other -day) to visit with friends, do errands, etc.  What I cannot do: drive too much, do too much in a day, being on foot (or on chairs) for too long, shopping for very long (i.e. - a full grocery trip is still a no-no), etc. Having said that, here are the pictures with short captions.

    Have a wonderful February! I'll be seeing you around at your blogs. Until later ...

    (picture lost with the quote).

    My friend Lisa custom made these for me. She is SO talented! Lots of friends babies are being born this year, so ... I can keep Lisa pretty busy!!My friend Lisa custom made these for me. She is SO talented! Lots of friends babies are being born this year, so ... I can keep Lisa pretty busy!!  

    Collages7-001

    Sample PicturesCollages7
    Recently Updated5

Categories

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728