October 5, 2014

  • Catch-up part one - my physical situation

    Dear Xanga Friends (I've decided to make this a letter format)...

    I'm sorry that I've been so long in updating.  Pictures aren't all done, so I'll have to share more once the pictures are finished.  But regarding my physical situation. First of all thank you, especially Carolyn & Michel for asking me, and for sharing your prayers and encouragement with me.

    Treatment #1: Sept 11 ~ Under sedation, I received 12+ shots in my right side. It took a few days to get over the pain from the treatment itself, but within about three days, I was definitely starting to see some relief from the sharp pains in the side.

    Treatment #2: Sept 25 ~ Under sedation, I received an epidural steroid shot in my lower spine. This time I didn't have nearly the pain that I had with the first treatment, and within a few days I was feeling some improvement.  I believe that I'll be seeing my doctor on October 9th to see what's next.

    The pain -- while much less severe -- is ever present.  On Monday, I took a shower and dried off  completely by myself.  Later ... in the afternoon, I had a friend drive me a few blocks away to our IGA, & while I rode in a cart, she put items into it as I pointed them out. She loaded up the cart, unloaded it, brought stuff into the house, and helped me put things away.

    That little bit of activity, and while I am still better than I was, I have had more pain after that. My post polio problems are causing some / most of the problems.  My right foot has been hurting greatly, which makes me limp, which causes my whole right side to be hurting more.

    Having said all that, I am still so blessed to be having less pain, and to be able to do more around the house than I had been for a couple of months.  I have been able to do more cooking and baking, as long as I pace myself.  My husband continues to take great care of me & to do extra things for me, and my mom (when she isn't having too many pain issues of her own) has shared in the kitchen duties.  I still haven't been out of the house except to go to my treatments at the hospital ... other than Monday's trip.

    So ... what are the pictures all about? Well back on my post on Sept. 2nd, I talked about some special events coming up. Our dear sister from India arrived at our home on the 18th; then, our son Shaun & his wife, & our 3 grandchildren arrived to enjoy a meal prepared by my brother for our Mom's 90th birthday.  We had a grand time together celebrating Mom's birthday, & enjoying the children's activities.

    There had been 2 surprises that we had been planning for Mom. One was a "birthday card shower" -- which I began reading all of them to her on her birthday - and through the weekend. We had thought it would be fantastic if she got a minimum of 90 for her 90th... but she ended up with close to 200!!  (Yes, I did keep busy with reading to her!)

    The next afternoon, I told her about the next surprise that was coming her way. . . on Saturday, the 20th, we had Mom's open house.  We had about 45 people come to wish her a happy birthday!  Well, that is it for tonight.  I'm still putting together pictures from all of the events.

    How was all of this possible in spite of my pain problems?  1. I was better. 2. I had lots of help from friends & family. 3. I worked through some of the pain, and tried to let others do as much as possible.

    Throughout the time -- from the 18th through 23rd -- our dear sis Kailas was with us ... or out to meals with friends, or at meetings, as I'd arranged for her.  When she was with us (usually every night) we enjoyed catching up... for even when there are years in between seeing each other, we keep up via the internet as much as possible. But HUGS & some things are so much easier to enjoy in person!

    Thank you for all of you who have been praying and concerned.   I shall keep working on the pictures, and hopefully will post them next week.

    Love ~  Carolyn

    QUOTE RE-- PAIN, GRIEF, GOD'S PLAN

    P.S. -- A bit of humor I can relate to pretty well. so true - Murphy's law re-- wet spots and socks insomnia and math skills what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger MY DAY IS BACKWARDS! superpower of gaining others' health by watching them

Comments (16)

  • so happy that you are getting better ~ God bless ~

  • Thanks for the update, Carolyn. I am praying you will have much lower pain levels. I have had back pain for about 20 years and lately it has been tough, but nothing like yours at all.

    That is wonderful about your mom's 90th!! She sure had a good turnout in everyway.

    Blessings and Hugs

    frank

  • Please extend a Happy Birthday to your mom from me! I'm so glad the treatments are starting to work - hopefully the pain will abate and you will have relief. I will add you to my prayers.

  • Such a neat surprise for your mother's 90th birthday! I am so sorry that you are fighting such a battle with your pain. Wishing you pain free life.

  • I am answering each of you on your own site. That way I know that you will see what I put to you. Thanks for your caring, my friends.

  • You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers! Still praying for the pain to go away.
    (((HUGS)))
    Not sure how much longer I will be on Xanga. My subscription is up this month.

  • I am late to comment,Carolyn . I checked your site many times and started to worry about you .
    So this is a very good news too read you to learn you are better and you have been able to face exceptional events in your house , despite the pain that always is there , even if less intense .
    Today you have your second epidural in the spine . I wish this second injection improves you more yet and you can have a sweeter life . I will think of you all the day.
    Love
    Michel

  • I forgot to wish a belated happy birthday to your mother . I do.
    Love
    Michel

  • How are you since October 9th , Carolyn?
    I hope the pain goes down and you have not ben too much tired by the familial gathering for your mother's birthday .
    Thinking of you.
    Love
    Michel

  • Hey, CJ!
    You are in my thoughts and prayers!
    How are you doing this week?!
    (((HUGS)))

  • Did the lack of posts and comments mean you quit Xanga, Carolyn ?
    I hope you are much better and I miss you.
    Love
    Michel

  • Just stopping by today with some "bug-gy" hugs!!!
    :-D
    PS...I owe you an e-mail! I'll get on that later tonight! :-)

  • I haven't been around but it looks like you've been through the ringer. Hope you are much better by now.

  • Wow, it's been more than a month. I hope you are doing well. (((hugs)))

  • You are not forgotten.
    You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    (((HUGS))) and Love and :-) 's!!! :-)

  • I miss your entries Carolyn and you are not forgotten;
    I hope your pain is away .
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031