Month: July 2014

  • Just to let you know .... "She'll be coming around the 'mountain' when she comes." -- "Mountain of Xanga!"

    Dear Friends,  

    I'm not putting up much tonight, other than to say I'm using my time to visit  all of you dear friends of mine.  Thank you for you sweet congratulations and comments.  I am still in the "land of the living" -- I've mainly been using my "extra" time to read to MomReading 2, and to try to do what needs to be done (including resting with cold packs, taking steroids & pain pills, etc.) .... the pain in my back and side are still pretty intense.  I did find out that I have arthritis in the spine, but I suspect that isn't really the problem.  Then Saturday night (i.e. - Sunday morning), I was in the E.R. from 2:30 - 9:30 with worsening pain. After a CT scan and being told that I had no problems with kidneys, appendix, etc.,  a friend brought us back home.  Today has been very painful, even with just sitting.  I called my doctor today, since nothing has really helped me yet.  Hopefully I will get in to see someone tomorrow, and we can find out what the source of all of this pain is! Meanwhile, life goes on whether one has pain or no pain.  I'm just thankful for friends and family and a God Who truly does care.

    "God never allows pain without a purpose in the lives of His children. He never allows Satan, nor circumstances, nor any ill-intending person to afflict us unless He uses that affliction for our good. God never wastes pain. He always causes it to work together for our ultimate good, the good of conforming us more to the likeness of His Son (see Romans 8:28-29)."  ~ Jerry Bridges

    My life verses: Rom. 8:28 -29 (God's Word Translation): "We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God—those whom he has called according to his plan. This is true because he already knew his people and had already appointed them to have the same form as the image of his Son. Therefore, his Son is the firstborn among many children."        Well, I'll see you around on your sites! Sunshine smiley

      

  • Celebrations!

    [Name] and [Name] sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G.  First comes love,

    then comes marriage, then comes baby in a baby carriage![2]

    I  remember hearing that rhyme growing up!  Anyone else remember it? 1976 - HONEYMOONERS

     Well on Saturday, July 17, 1976, Mike and I were married  . . . and then

    right on schedule (according to the poem) -- about two years later . . .  on Saturday, July 12, 1978  - our firstborn joined the family that Mike and I had become.   Today we are

    enjoying a quiet evening together at home. Some years we have celebrated alone, sometimes with a special meal or activity; sometimes with another

    special couple or other family members.  The day isn't really the

    important thing, but each and every day that we are together is another

    day of celebrating being together with the best friend God could have ever

    given to us -- each other!  And because Mike gives me special gifts

    throughout the year (& we do special things throughout as well) it isn't

    really necessary for him to gift me!  2014-07-171

    However, he truly surprised me with a

    beautiful bouquet of roses and daisies today!   We had just returned from

    an early appointment taking Mom to the orthopedic doctor for an

    evaluation of a very painful development (much better since getting a shot

    of cortisone in her knee), and were just starting our lunch when I saw the

    florist pull up into our driveway.  Perfect timing! (Mike said he wondered

    if we'd be back home in time .... but we made it!) How pleased Mike was to

    see my genuine surprise and delight!  

                   

    So on Saturday last week, we celebrated our firstborn son Tom's birthday

    with his wife Amber, my brother Don, Mom, Mike, & me.  I made him his

    favorite kind of quiche: spinach/bacon (three, actually) and a salad. His

    uncle had purchased two of his favorite desserts: cheesecake and a cake

    with a butter creme icing.  Then we had him open up his cards and gifts.

     Mom had  challenged me to write him a poem. (Thank you, Val ... before

    the April Poetry month challenge, Mom didn't even remember that I had

    ever written poetry!)  So the card that I made for Tom

    included the collage I put up in my last post, plus a new poem which I

    include below. 2014-07-131

     

    Until next week ... see

    you around on Xanga,

    WordPress, and

    Facebook.  And ...

    THANK YOU for the

    hundreds of sweet

    comments and  "HAPPY

    ANNIVERSARY"

    greetings,   our  friends!

  • Where I've Been

    I've been around ... but not so much with blogging.  I've been having back problems, getting lots of rest, using ice pack/heat pack rotation, taking pain meds, getting massage therapy, and then finally went to my doctor to see what could be done. The pain was getting worse. He ordered x-rays (I haven't heard back, but I don't think that's the problem) -- and put me on a steroid pack for three weeks (days 1-4 are out of the way now).  The steroids seem to be helping the pain to decrease (from above 10, to a manageable 6-8).  Thanks to those of you have known and have been praying for me.  I'm still having to be careful, but it's nice to not be hurting so badly now! :-)

    Still I do have some things to share with you my Xanga friends. On Monday, June 30th, I had a huge surprise!  One of the first folks that I met on Xanga was a gal named Paula (heyheyPaula), and we have become super close. We've been able to see each other in person four times now... the latest being when she came with her sister and BIL on a quick trek from TX through OH to Niagra Falls, on to the East coast, and then heading back down to TX again. She sent me an e-mail message from her cell phone, letting me know that they (unexpectedly) had ended up for their second rest stop at a hotel in my home town of Springfield! So ... we had a lovely time together! I actually picked her up at her hotel, brought her home with me for an hour to share her with Mike and Mom, and then took her back to her hotel.  

    2014-07-011

     Next event that I want to share with you:  Some of you may have seen this on my Facebook page, but on the evening of July 4th, my college roommate died of a cardiac arrest very unexpectedly and suddenly.  Yesterday (Thursday, July 10), a friend of ours drove us to Columbus to the funeral home, and then to the church for a dinner with the family and friends, and then brought us back home. (Too much driving for me to do at this time.) I had been asked, and was privileged to share at her funeral service. The link to this is included here, if you would like to read what I shared about this very special "dynamite" friend of mine.  Here is what I believe to be the last picture that we had of the two of us -- maybe about 4 years ago?  (I'm not sure).  April and me - last photo togetherThere will be more about April in my next blog ... which I'll plan to post next week.    Next -- July 12th is the birthday of our older son, Tom -- his 36th birthday!  Here is the collage that I've made for helping us to celebrate -- a sort of card, and a wall hanging for his party. I chose some pictures that gave just some of his "Faces" -- he is our artistic son who enjoys music, art, photography, and more.  He loves children and animals, and so enjoys loving on his nephew (pictured as a newborn) and his nieces. The top right picture goes back to when he first married his Amber.  We are looking forward to celebrating with them, and with my brother, who lives near to us.    PICTURES OF TOM & AMBER, ETC                                                  

    More to share and celebrate in a few more days.  Be seeing you over at your Xanga home!   And since I haven't seen my grandkids for awhile due to not being able to drive far, here are some pictures that my kind daughter-in-law posted on her FB wall. It helps to see their pictures at least! :-)  She is able to be a stay-at-home mom, and has discovered (as have we all) what a super-talented lady she is with handcrafts and creating clothing for her children... which is the theme of the last collage I am posting, followed by my encouraging thought for this post. FRIENDS AND FAMILY

     

Categories

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031